scroll back to top of page

Secteur Des Matériaux De Pointe

La Caroline du Sud était autrefois connue principalement comme un état specialisé dans la production textile. Si le secteur textile reste puissuit, la fabrication de matériaux de pointe, y compris des textiles plus perfectionnés, a fait passer l'économie de l'état à la vitesse supérieure. Du plastique à l'optique en passant par les matériaux photoniques et composites, la Caroline du Sud fournit désormais aux fabricants du monde entier les éléments nécessaires à la fabrication de certains des produits les plus complexes du secteur industriel. Des installations de recherche innovantes sur les polymères et les composites de pointe et une main-d'œuvre exceptionnelle permettent à l'État du Palmetto de soutenir un groupe de plus en plus important d'entreprises dans le secteur des matériaux de pointe.

Article de fond

China Jushi

La Caroline du Sud abrite l'usine américaine de fabrication de fibre de verre de China Jushi, un fabricant et promoteur d’envergure mondial de produits en fibre de verre. China Jushi est l'un des principaux fournisseurs de renforts et de tissus en fibre de verre pour l'industrie des plastiques renforcés dans le monde entier.

Communiqué de presse
14 February 2023

2023 S.C. Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event

Conferences | Networking

The South Carolina Automotive Council, in partnership with the S.C. Department of Commerce, is pleased to host the 2023 Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event. Tier II and III suppliers are invited to register for the event (limit of two representatives per company), for an opportunity to be matched with  participating OEM/Tier I companies. Pre-registration closes Friday, Jan. 27, 2023.

Pourquoi la Caroline du Sud est-elle le choix idéal pour les matériaux de pointe ?

2,863

nouveaux emplois annoncés par les sociétés de matériaux de pointe de 2017 à 2021

1,6 milliards de dollars

dans les ventes à l'exportation de matières plastiques en 2021

744 millions de dollars

d'investissements en capital déclarés par le secteur des matériaux de pointe entre 2017 et 2021

1 milliards de dollars

d’'investissement du producteur de fibres de carbone Toray reste l'un des plus importants de l'histoire de l'État

800

entreprises de composites et matériaux de pointe

Demander plus d'information

Aperçus des matériaux de pointe

« Les solutions composites thermoplastiques qui seront fabriquées dans notre usine de Greenville aideront nos clients des secteurs énergétique, aéronautique et automobile à assumer une meilleure responsabilité environnementale et à être plus abordables tout en proposant des solutions plus légères aux performances supérieures. »

-Mike Finelli, Président Plateformes de croissance Solvay

« Notre impact économique en Caroline du Sud est significatif et s'étend sur plus d'un siècle. Nous avons créé des emplois qualifiés, soutenu les opérations de fabrication dans l'État et continué à investir à une époque où ces emplois migraient vers d'autres lieux. Milliken emploie plus de 3 200 personnes en Caroline du Sud, sur 16 sites. Les associés de Milliken vivent dans 23 comtés différents de Caroline du Sud. En plus de nos associés et de nos usines, nous dépensons plus de 350 millions de dollars par an en Caroline du Sud. Nous sommes conscients de notre responsabilité envers nos communautés dans l'exploitation de chacune de ces installations. Milliken apprécie l'opportunité de soutenir la Caroline du Sud à la fois par le biais d’investissements économiques que par des dons à la communauté. »

- Halsey Cook, PDG de Milliken & Company

« Notre personnel est au cœur de notre activité. Depuis le jour où nous avons décidé d'implanter notre entreprise en Caroline du Sud, nous avons été enchantés par les compétences et l'engagement des personnes locales que nous avons embauchées. C'est ce qui a facilité notre décision d'investir davantage en Caroline du Sud. a été facile à prendre. L'usine d'Orangeburg sera notre fleuron, avec des équipements de pointe, de nouveaux produits innovants et un personnel hautement qualifié. Nous sommes convaincus que ce sera la recette du succès. Nous sommes reconnaissants du soutien de la Commission de développement du comté d'Orangeburg et du ministère du Commerce de la Caroline du Sud, et nous nous réjouissons à l'idée des six prochains mois durant lesquels que nous concrétiserons nos plans. »

'- Paul McMullan, PDG de Sigmatex

« Après un vaste processus de sélection de sites comprenant six États, Teijin a choisi Greenwood, en Caroline du Sud en raison de son atmosphère favorable aux entreprises et du soutien proactif de son gouverneur Haley et de son équipe, ainsi que des représentants du gouvernement local. Nous avons également été attirés par la diversité des citoyens de Greenwood, la riche histoire de la communauté en matière d'accueil des investissements étrangers et les excellentes possibilités de formation offertes par le Piedmont Technical College. Nous prévoyons d'investir dans des ressources pour développer des produits nouveaux et innovants afin de répondre aux demandes croissantes du marché mondial de la fibre de carbone. »

– Wayne Trotter, directeur des relations gouvernementales de Teijin

« La Caroline du Sud offre à Toray Industries un emplacement idéal pour notre prochaine usine de fabrication en Amérique du Nord. Ici, nous serons à proximité de nos principaux clients, aussi bien aux États-Unis que sur les marchés d'Amérique latine. Nous apprécions l'excellente relation professionnelle que nous avons établie avec l'État et les responsables locaux, et nous avons hâte de compter parmi les entreprises implantées en Caroline du Sud. »

-Akihiro Nikkaku, président de Toray Industries.

« Les solutions composites thermoplastiques qui seront fabriquées dans notre usine de Greenville aideront nos clients des secteurs énergétique, aéronautique et automobile à assumer une meilleure responsabilité environnementale et à être plus abordables tout en proposant des solutions plus légères aux performances supérieures. »

-Mike Finelli, Président Plateformes de croissance Solvay

« Notre impact économique en Caroline du Sud est significatif et s'étend sur plus d'un siècle. Nous avons créé des emplois qualifiés, soutenu les opérations de fabrication dans l'État et continué à investir à une époque où ces emplois migraient vers d'autres lieux. Milliken emploie plus de 3 200 personnes en Caroline du Sud, sur 16 sites. Les associés de Milliken vivent dans 23 comtés différents de Caroline du Sud. En plus de nos associés et de nos usines, nous dépensons plus de 350 millions de dollars par an en Caroline du Sud. Nous sommes conscients de notre responsabilité envers nos communautés dans l'exploitation de chacune de ces installations. Milliken apprécie l'opportunité de soutenir la Caroline du Sud à la fois par le biais d’investissements économiques que par des dons à la communauté. »

- Halsey Cook, PDG de Milliken & Company

« Notre personnel est au cœur de notre activité. Depuis le jour où nous avons décidé d'implanter notre entreprise en Caroline du Sud, nous avons été enchantés par les compétences et l'engagement des personnes locales que nous avons embauchées. C'est ce qui a facilité notre décision d'investir davantage en Caroline du Sud. a été facile à prendre. L'usine d'Orangeburg sera notre fleuron, avec des équipements de pointe, de nouveaux produits innovants et un personnel hautement qualifié. Nous sommes convaincus que ce sera la recette du succès. Nous sommes reconnaissants du soutien de la Commission de développement du comté d'Orangeburg et du ministère du Commerce de la Caroline du Sud, et nous nous réjouissons à l'idée des six prochains mois durant lesquels que nous concrétiserons nos plans. »

'- Paul McMullan, PDG de Sigmatex

« Après un vaste processus de sélection de sites comprenant six États, Teijin a choisi Greenwood, en Caroline du Sud en raison de son atmosphère favorable aux entreprises et du soutien proactif de son gouverneur Haley et de son équipe, ainsi que des représentants du gouvernement local. Nous avons également été attirés par la diversité des citoyens de Greenwood, la riche histoire de la communauté en matière d'accueil des investissements étrangers et les excellentes possibilités de formation offertes par le Piedmont Technical College. Nous prévoyons d'investir dans des ressources pour développer des produits nouveaux et innovants afin de répondre aux demandes croissantes du marché mondial de la fibre de carbone. »

– Wayne Trotter, directeur des relations gouvernementales de Teijin

« La Caroline du Sud offre à Toray Industries un emplacement idéal pour notre prochaine usine de fabrication en Amérique du Nord. Ici, nous serons à proximité de nos principaux clients, aussi bien aux États-Unis que sur les marchés d'Amérique latine. Nous apprécions l'excellente relation professionnelle que nous avons établie avec l'État et les responsables locaux, et nous avons hâte de compter parmi les entreprises implantées en Caroline du Sud. »

-Akihiro Nikkaku, président de Toray Industries.

Environ 800 entreprises spécialisées dans les matériaux de pointe ont élu domicile en Caroline du Sud, notamment :

Cytec
Milliken
Sigmatix
Teijin
Toray

Découvrez ce que la Caroline du Sud peut vous offrir.

Nous vous invitons à découvrir notre État.

Découvrez si la Caroline du Sud est le choix idéal pour votre usine de matériaux de pointe et de production.

Nom
CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
14 February 2023

2023 S.C. Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event

Conferences | Networking

The South Carolina Automotive Council, in partnership with the S.C. Department of Commerce, is pleased to host the 2023 Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event. Tier II and III suppliers are invited to register for the event (limit of two representatives per company), for an opportunity to be matched with  participating OEM/Tier I companies. Pre-registration closes Friday, Jan. 27, 2023.

scroll back to top of page

Advanced Materials Industry

South Carolina was once known primarily as a textile state. While the textile industry is still strong, the manufacturing of advanced materials—including more advanced textiles—has shifted the state's economy into high gear. From plastics and optics to photonics and composite materials, South Carolina now supplies the world's manufacturers with the items needed to make some of the industry's most complex products. Innovative polymer and advanced composites research facilities and an exceptional workforce allow the Palmetto State to support an increasingly significant cluster of advanced materials companies.

Feature Story

China Jushi

South Carolina is home to the US fiberglass manufacturing operation for China Jushi, a global manufacturer and promoter of fiberglass products. China Jushi is a leading supplier of fiberglass reinforcements and fabrics to the reinforced plastics industry worldwide.

Read Press Release
14 February 2023

2023 S.C. Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event

Conferences | Networking

The South Carolina Automotive Council, in partnership with the S.C. Department of Commerce, is pleased to host the 2023 Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event. Tier II and III suppliers are invited to register for the event (limit of two representatives per company), for an opportunity to be matched with  participating OEM/Tier I companies. Pre-registration closes Friday, Jan. 27, 2023.

Why Is SC Just Right for Advanced Materials?

2,863

new jobs announced by advanced materials firms from 2017–2021

$1.6 billion

in the export sales of plastics in 2021

$744 million

capital investment announced by advanced materials firms from 2017–2021

$1 billion

investment from carbon fiber producer Toray, continues to be one of the largest investments in state history

800

advanced materials and composites firms

Request More Information

Advanced Materials Snapshots

“The thermoplastic composite solutions that will be manufactured in our Greenville facility will help our energy, aerospace and automotive customers achieve better environmental responsibility and affordability by offering more lightweight solutions that deliver superior performance.”

-Solvay President of Growth Platforms Mike Finelli

“Our economic impact in South Carolina is significant and spans more than a century. We created skilled job opportunities, bolstered manufacturing operations in the state and continued to invest at a time when those jobs were leaving for other locations. Milliken employs over 3,200 associates in South Carolina in 16 locations. Milliken’s associates live across 23 different counties in South Carolina. In addition to our associates and plants, we spend over $350 million in South Carolina annually. We understand our responsibility to our communities in operating each of these facilities. Milliken values the opportunity to support South Carolina through both economic investments and community giving.”

- Milliken & Company CEO Halsey Cook

"At the heart of our business is our people. Since the day we decided to locate our business in S.C., we have been delighted with the skill and commitment of the local people we've brought on board, and that's what made our decision to invest further into S.C. an easy one. The plant in Orangeburg will be our flagship operation, with industry-leading equipment, innovative new products and highly capable people. We believe it will be a recipe for success. We are grateful for the support of the Orangeburg County Development Commission and the South Carolina Department of Commerce and look forward to a thrilling next six months as we bring our plans to fruition."

-Sigmatex CEO Paul McMullan

“After an extensive site selection process that included six states, Teijin selected Greenwood, S.C. because of its pro-business atmosphere and proactive support from Governor Haley and her team, as well as local government officials. We were also attracted to the diversity of Greenwood’s citizens, the community’s rich history of welcoming foreign investment and the excellent training opportunities available at Piedmont Technical College. We plan to invest in resources to develop new and innovative products to meet the increasing demands of the global carbon fiber market.”

–Teijin Director of Government Relations Wayne Trotter

"South Carolina offers Toray Industries an ideal location for our next North American manufacturing facility. Here we will have proximity to major customers, both in the U.S. and in Latin American markets. We appreciate the great working relationship we have established with the state and local officials, and we look forward to becoming part of the South Carolina business community."

-Toray Industries President Akihiro Nikkaku

“The thermoplastic composite solutions that will be manufactured in our Greenville facility will help our energy, aerospace and automotive customers achieve better environmental responsibility and affordability by offering more lightweight solutions that deliver superior performance.”

-Solvay President of Growth Platforms Mike Finelli

“Our economic impact in South Carolina is significant and spans more than a century. We created skilled job opportunities, bolstered manufacturing operations in the state and continued to invest at a time when those jobs were leaving for other locations. Milliken employs over 3,200 associates in South Carolina in 16 locations. Milliken’s associates live across 23 different counties in South Carolina. In addition to our associates and plants, we spend over $350 million in South Carolina annually. We understand our responsibility to our communities in operating each of these facilities. Milliken values the opportunity to support South Carolina through both economic investments and community giving.”

- Milliken & Company CEO Halsey Cook

"At the heart of our business is our people. Since the day we decided to locate our business in S.C., we have been delighted with the skill and commitment of the local people we've brought on board, and that's what made our decision to invest further into S.C. an easy one. The plant in Orangeburg will be our flagship operation, with industry-leading equipment, innovative new products and highly capable people. We believe it will be a recipe for success. We are grateful for the support of the Orangeburg County Development Commission and the South Carolina Department of Commerce and look forward to a thrilling next six months as we bring our plans to fruition."

-Sigmatex CEO Paul McMullan

“After an extensive site selection process that included six states, Teijin selected Greenwood, S.C. because of its pro-business atmosphere and proactive support from Governor Haley and her team, as well as local government officials. We were also attracted to the diversity of Greenwood’s citizens, the community’s rich history of welcoming foreign investment and the excellent training opportunities available at Piedmont Technical College. We plan to invest in resources to develop new and innovative products to meet the increasing demands of the global carbon fiber market.”

–Teijin Director of Government Relations Wayne Trotter

"South Carolina offers Toray Industries an ideal location for our next North American manufacturing facility. Here we will have proximity to major customers, both in the U.S. and in Latin American markets. We appreciate the great working relationship we have established with the state and local officials, and we look forward to becoming part of the South Carolina business community."

-Toray Industries President Akihiro Nikkaku

Approximately 800 advanced materials companies call SC home, including:

Cytec
Milliken
Sigmatix
Teijin
Toray

Learn more about what SC has to offer.

We invite you to get to know our state.

Find out if SC is just right for your advanced materials and production facility.

Name
CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
14 February 2023

2023 S.C. Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event

Conferences | Networking

The South Carolina Automotive Council, in partnership with the S.C. Department of Commerce, is pleased to host the 2023 Automotive Summit B2B Supplier Matchmaker Event. Tier II and III suppliers are invited to register for the event (limit of two representatives per company), for an opportunity to be matched with  participating OEM/Tier I companies. Pre-registration closes Friday, Jan. 27, 2023.