scroll back to top of page

State and community leaders graduate from South Carolina economic development training program

SCEDA Institute graduates 71 community leaders

The S.C. Department of Commerce (S.C. Commerce) and S.C. Economic Developers’ Association (SCEDA) today announced that 71 state and community leaders have graduated from a statewide economic development training program, the S.C. Economic Development Institute (Institute).

“The success the state has enjoyed in recent years can, in large part, be attributed to the remarkable amount of collaboration that takes place within our borders,” said Secretary of Commerce Harry M. Lightsey III. “Programs like the SCEDA Institute help ensure that our team is knowledgeable, innovative and united.”

A collaborative effort between S.C. Commerce and SCEDA, the program is designed to ready participants with innovative development approaches for implementation in local communities. The program features a highly interactive curriculum, allowing participants to obtain greater hands-on economic development learning experience.

Now in its 32nd year, the Institute consists of quarterly, two-day sessions that are hosted in various locations throughout the state. This latest graduating class combines the 2020 and 2021 classes after the global pandemic postponed the 2020 session.

The Institute is open to individuals from a wide variety of organizations and entities, including city, town and county councils; local economic development practitioners; county economic development boards; county school boards; regional economic development boards; utility companies; and local and state government employees.

More information on this training program can be obtained by visiting or contacting SCEDA at (803) 929-0305.

2021 South Carolina Economic Development Institute graduates, listed alphabetically by last name:

(Click on the hyperlink for a photo of the participant)

Alvin Adkins, Jasper County Council

Lauren Bailey, Dorchester Economic Development Corporation

Nicole Bentley, Apprenticeship Carolina

John Brandon, ADC Engineering

Amber Campbell

Sabina Craig, City of Aiken

Eddie Crosby, Dorchester County Council Member

Hannah Davis, City of Florence (Not pictured)

Kathy Dickson, Apprenticeship Carolina

Nathaniel Foutch, S.C. Dept. of Commerce

Josh Fowler, HDR

Stuart Friddle, Dorchester County Council

Heather Ginn, South Carolina Technical College System

Shirley Greene, Fairfield County Council

Lenessa Hawkins

Brooks Hearn, Dorchester Economic Development Corporation

Alan Hewett, Alliance Consulting Engineers, Inc.

Karmen Hewitt, South Carolina Technical College System: Division of Economic Development

Kristie Holden, LS3P

Kerri Kellahan, Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments

Brad Mallett, Dorchester County Council Member

Corey McClary, Berkeley County Economic Development

Clint Moore, City of Florence (Not pictured)

Chakisse Newton, Richland County Council (Not pictured)

Tim O'Briant, City of Aiken (Not pictured)

Neil Parsons, City of Hardeeville

Lindsay Privette, Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

David Ramey, LS3P

Brandy Roberson, Calhoun County

Tim Roseborough, Fairfield County Council

Bidd Smith, Berkeley County Economic Development

Charles Stone, Beaufort County Economic Development Corporation

Jason Vaughn, Agracel, Inc. (Not pictured)

Marc Warren, Goodwyn Mills Cawood

Ryan Wathen, Rodgers Builders, Inc. (Not pictured)

Shane Whatley, THS Constructors

Takeisha Williams, South Carolina Technical College System

Timika Wilson, Union County resident


2020 South Carolina Economic Development Institute graduates, listed alphabetically by last name:

(Click on the hyperlink for a photo of the participant)

Daniel Alexander, Barnwell County Council

Brad Benjamin, Radium Architecture

Steve Bratton, Cherokee County Council

Hattie Burns, Chesterfield County

Rhett Butler, Chesterfield County (Not pictured)

Jenny Chubb, GEL Engineering, LLC

Scott Cooper, Edgefield County

Margaret Frierson, Orangeburg County Development Commission

Gilleon Frieson, Williamsburg County Development Board

Mary George, Goodwyn Mills & Cawood

Paola Gutierrez, South Carolina Office of Rural Health

Melissa Harrill, Municipal Association of South Carolina (Not pictured)

Thomas Higgs, City of Clinton

Thomas Hobbs, Union County Development Board

Norman Jackson, Richland County Government

Taylor Jackson, City of Newberry

Corbin Jenkins, Goodwin Mills & Caywood

Amber Lange, Clemson University

Kristen Lanier, Berkeley County Economic Development

Michael Lisle, Town of Summerville

Annie McDaniel, South Carolina House of Representatives

Craig Metz, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

Jennifer Moorefield, Greenville Technical College

Maya Morant, Georgetown County Economic Development

Tiffany Norton, CPC, Dorchester County (Not pictured)

Katherine O'Neill, OneSpartanburg, Inc.

Brown Patterson, Laurens County (Not pictured)

Michael Ramsey, Berkeley County Economic Development (Not pictured)

Candice Roberson, Downtown Orangeburg Revitalization Association

Kim Roberts, Richland County Government

David Root, Oconee County

Alicia Spires, County of Lexington Economic Development

Marion C. Stewart, Darlington County

Joyce W. Thomas, Darlington County (Not pictured)

Brenda Thompson, Lancaster County Department of Economic Development