成功案例: Honda

Honda of South Carolina Mfg., Inc.

Honda of South Carolina
母公司:

Honda Motor Co., Ltd.

总部所在地:
日本东京(成立于1948年)
员工人数:

全球有超过205,000名,其中南卡罗来纳州有近1,000名。

产品和服务:

本田公司生产电力设备、发电机、船用发动机和汽车。 南卡罗来纳州工厂生产全地形车(ATV)和多功能作业车(SxS)。

“我们的员工对我们在本田南卡罗来纳分公司生产的全地形车和多功能作业车感到非常自豪。我们最近的一次投资以及我们当前正在进行的工厂扩建项目都再次确认了我们对客户的承诺、对南卡罗来纳州的承诺,对我们当地社区的承诺。” 

Gary Mabrey, 本田南卡罗来纳分公司总裁

历经二十载,本田公司弗洛伦斯县工厂的发展依旧如火如荼,并谋求大展宏图,以满足不断增长的客户需求。

1979年,本田公司在美国俄亥俄州玛丽斯维尔市设立摩托车生产厂,成为第一家在美国制造产品的日本公司。二十年过后,该公司决定将业务扩展到南卡罗来纳州,并成立了一家全地形车(ATV)制造工厂,该工厂于1998年投产。在为工厂选址时,本田公司选择了弗洛伦斯县毗邻20号州际公路和95号州际公路的一处地点,从这里可以便利地通往查尔斯顿港等重要枢纽。受全地形车强劲需求的推动以及在州政府和地方政府的持续支持下,这座位于弗洛伦斯县的工厂取得了显著的产量增长。截至1999年,该工厂的日产量已达到500辆以上。经过多次扩建,在完成超过三百万辆全地形车的生产之后,该工厂的增长势头仍未有减缓迹象。

2015年8月,本田宣布了一项新的总额达4200万美元的投资计划,用于将工厂面积扩大115,000平方英尺并增加两个新的产品线——先锋1000和先锋1000-5。一年之后,该公司宣布了另一项投资总额达4500万美元的重大扩张计划,预计将创造250个新的工作岗位。近二十年的经营业绩充分证明,南卡罗来纳州是本田公司不容置疑的明智之选。

在南卡罗来纳州的成功业绩

  • 1999年,在启动大规模生产一年后,本田南卡罗来纳分公司的日产量突破500台。
  • 2003年,该公司庆祝其在南卡罗来纳州生产的第100万台全地形车下线。
  • 2010年,本田南卡罗来纳分公司的佛罗伦萨县工厂实现无垃圾填埋。
  • 2015年,该工厂因连续300万小时无工时损失而荣获安全奖。

准备好在南卡罗来纳州拓展您的汽车业务了吗?

Success Story: Honda

Honda of South Carolina Mfg., Inc.

Honda of South Carolina
Parent Company:

Honda Motor Co., Ltd.

Headquarters:
Tokyo, Japan (Founded in 1948).
Employees:

More than 205,000 worldwide and nearly 1,000 in South Carolina.

Products and Services:

Honda builds power equipment, generators, marine engines and automobiles. The South Carolina plant manufactures all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and side-by-side (SxS) vehicles. 

“Our associates are very proud of the ATV and SxS products we make at Honda of South Carolina. Our most recent investment and the current plant expansion reaffirms our commitment to our customers, the state of South Carolina and our local communities.” 

Gary Mabrey, President of Honda of South Carolina

After nearly two decades in South Carolina, Honda’s Florence County operations continue to thrive, growing and evolving to meet ever-increasing customer demand.

When Honda opened its US motorcycle production plant in Marysville, Ohio in 1979, it became the first Japanese company to manufacture its products in the United States. Two decades later, the firm decided to establish operations in South Carolina – an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) manufacturing facility, which opened in 1998. In searching for sites for the plant, the company selected a spot in Florence County in close proximity to both Interstate 20 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to South Carolina’s logistics assets, such as the Port of Charleston. Due to strong demand for ATVs and continued support from state and local leaders, the Florence County facility ramped-up production quickly. And, by 1999, the operation’s production output eclipsed 500 units per day. Multiple expansions and more than three million ATVs later, the facility is still growing.

In August 2015, Honda announced a new $42 million investment, growing the facility by 115,000 square feet and facilitating the addition of two new product lines – the Pioneer 1000 and Pioneer 1000-5. A year later, the company announced another significant expansion – a $45 million investment, which is expected to create 250 new jobs. In business here for nearly two decades, it has become clear that South Carolina is Just right for Honda. 

Successes in SC

  • In 1999, a year after the startup of mass production, Honda of South Carolina’s production output eclipsed 500 units per day.
  • In 2003, the company celebrated the production of its one millionth South Carolina-made ATV.
  • In 2010, Honda of South Carolina’s Florence County facility achieved land fill free status.
  • In 2015, the facility received a safety award, recognizing three million consecutive hours with no lost time.

Ready to grow your Automotive business in South Carolina?