scroll back to top of page

The SC Coordinating Council for Economic Development, administered by SC Commerce and established in 1986 by the General Assembly, was formed in response to a general need for improved coordination of economic development efforts by those state agencies involved in the recruitment of new business and the expansion of current enterprises throughout the state.

The Council consists of the heads or board chairs of 11 state agencies concerned with economic development: SC Department of Commerce, SC Ports Authority, SC Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism, SC Department of Agriculture, SC Technical College System, SC Research Authority, SC Department of Employment and Workforce, SC Department of Revenue, SC Jobs-Economic Development Authority, SC Department of Transportation and Santee Cooper. Additionally, the Council includes the Senate Finance Committee chairman, or their designee, as well as the House Ways and Means Committee chairman, or their designee.

Click on the links below for program documents.

Enterprise Zone – Annual Reports

 The SC General Assembly enacted the Enterprise Zone legislation in 1995. Since that time, the incentives contained in this legislation, including the Job Development Credit and Job Retraining Credit, have created a significant competitive advantage for this state and enhanced South Carolina’s ability to compete for and win high-quality, high-wage economic development projects. These incentives are particularly valuable to companies locating or expanding in “Tier IV” counties and have helped attract needed jobs and industry to the most rural areas of the state. *Note: The Job Retraining Credit is administered by the Tech Board, so the Enterprise Zone annual report no longer includes program information for that program.

Program participants can click on the links below to download the most current Annual Report form or learn about upcoming webinars.