Karen B. Manning

Karen B. Manning

Chef Rechtsberater

Karen Manning ist dem Wirtschaftsministerium von South Carolina im Dezember 1998 als General Counsel beigetreten und ist seither verantwortlich für sämtliche Rechtsangelegenheiten der Behörde. Karen arbeitet eng zusammen mit dem Wirtschaftsminister und anderen Mitgliedern des Führungsstabs und stellt ihnen Beratung in Rechtsfragen bezüglich der Verwaltung und Aktivitäten des Ministeriums zur Verfügung.

Vor ihrer Zeit beim Wirtschaftsministerium von South Carolina war Karen als Anwältin für Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP tätig und behandelte komplexe Rechtsverfahren im Bereich von Handel und Computersoftware sowie bei Rechtsverfahren zur Haftung von medizinischen Geräten. Während ihrer Amtszeit bei Nelson Mullins arbeitete Karen zudem intern bei der Policy Management Systems Corporation, der heutigen CSC Corporation.

Karen stammt aus Columbia und ist Absolventin des College of Arts & Sciences der University of Virginia und des McIntire School of Commerce Business Institute. Später machte sie ihren Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften an der South Carolina School of Law.

Karen B. Manning

Karen B. Manning

Chief Legal Counsel

Karen Manning joined the SC Department of Commerce as the agency’s general counsel in December 1998 and since that time has been responsible for all legal issues affecting SC Commerce. Karen works closely with the Secretary of Commerce and other members of the executive staff to provide legal advice with respect to agency administration and activities.

Prior to joining SC Commerce, Karen practiced law with Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP in the area of complex commercial and computer software litigation as well as drug and medical device products liability litigation. During her tenure at Nelson Mullins, Karen also worked in-house at Policy Management Systems Corporation, now CSC Corporation.

A Columbia native, Karen is a graduate of the University of Virginia’s College of Arts & Sciences and McIntire School of Commerce Business Institute. She later received her law degree from the University of South Carolina School of Law.