Amy G. Thomson

Amy Thompson

Amy G. Thomson

Director of International Strategy and Trade

Als Leiterin der Abteilung International Strategy and Trade ist Amy Thomson für das Wachstum der ausländischen Direktinvestitionen und die Exportaktivitäten in South Carolina verantwortlich.

Vor dieser Funktion leitete Amy das Programm Existing Industry bei SC Commerce, ein Programm zur Aufrechterhaltung und Expansion von Geschäften, das auf Produzenten und Händler ausgerichtet ist, um deren Bedürfnisse zu beobachten und sie bei der Nutzung der vielen im Staat verfügbaren Ressourcen zu unterstützen.

Bevor Amy im August 2014 wieder zu SC Commerce kam, war sie leitende Expertin für internationalen Handel im Commercial Service des US Department of Commerce. In dieser Funktion unterstützte sie Firmen in South Carolina beim Verkauf ihrer Produkte im Ausland. Davor arbeitete Amy bei SC Commerce als internationale Handelsmanagerin und leitete Handelsvertretungen in ganz Kanada, Mexiko sowie Mittel- und Südamerika. Amy war auch Chefredakteurin einer Fachzeitschrift für die Bekleidungsindustrie in spanischer Sprache und reiste während des Aufschwungs der Bekleidungsfertigung in dieser Region durch ganz Lateinamerika.

Amy hat einen Abschluss von der University of South Carolina, wurde zur ersten Vorsitzenden der SC International Trade Coalition ernannt und ist derzeit im Vorstand der SC Manufacturing Extension Partnership. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in Downtown Columbia.

Amy G. Thomson

Amy Thompson

Amy G. Thomson

Director of International Strategy and Trade

As director of the International Strategy and Trade division, Amy Thomson is responsible for the growth of foreign direct investment and export activity in South Carolina.

Prior to this role, Amy led the Existing Industry program at SC Commerce, a business retention and expansion program that caters to manufacturers and distributors to monitor their needs and assist in leveraging the many resources available in the state.

Before re-joining SC Commerce in August of 2014, Amy was senior international trade specialist with the US Department of Commerce’s Commercial Service. In this capacity, she assisted South Carolina firms in selling their products overseas. Before that, Amy worked at SC Commerce as an international trade manager, leading trade missions throughout Canada, Mexico, Central and South America. Amy was also editor-in-chief of a Spanish-language trade publication for the apparel industry, traveling throughout Latin America during the boom of apparel manufacturing in that region.

Amy is a graduate of the University of South Carolina, was named the first chair of the SC International Trade Coalition and currently serves on the board of the SC Manufacturing Extension Partnership. She resides in downtown Columbia with her family.